Communicating Effectively

Amazing! I just review the message of “The Art of Effective Communication” which can be found in the following link: http://mym.cdn.laureate-media.com/2dett4d/Walden/EDUC/6145/03/mm/aoc/index.html. The message with the same content of words delivered in an email, a voice mail and face to face. However, my interpretation of the message change as the type of modality used. First, I read the written message in an email. Second, I listen to the same message in a voice message. Third and last, I view the same content of words face to face. It is amazing how the same words can change the meaning of the message depending upon the tone of voice, face expression and just plain paper. Project managers must maintain effective communication among all project team members. It is essential for a project’s success. As a Project Manager, how you communicate with different stakeholders is of equal importance to what we communicate and can influence how our message is interpreted.

After observing, the same communication in three different modalities: as written text, as audio, and as video. As I listen and reviewed each modality, and reflected upon what I interpreted the message to mean. I thought about the content and tone of the message. I recorded my interpretation of the message after receiving it in each modality. Finally, I reflected upon the experience by considering the following:

My interpretation of the message changed from one modality to the next:

In an email the message was plain and simple, please let me know the tentative date you will turn in your report, or might be late to turn in my report. On the other hand, you can also send an email with data only so that I can finish my report, I will appreciated.

In a voice mail, my perception was: “Hey, please let me know when you would you be turn in your report. Hey, if you can, I would truly appreciate if you can send data on a separate email so I can finish my report. By the way, thanks so much, I truly appreciate your help.

In a face to face scenario and due to the tone of voice and face, my perception was the following: I need you to send me an eta on when you will be submitting your report. Due to you being late, I might be late too. At least sent the data in a separate email so I can attempt to submit my report on time.

  • The factors that influenced how I perceived the message are the tone of voice. It truly made a big difference between the voice message and the face to face message.
  • In my opinion, among the three forms of communication, the best form that conveyed the true meaning and intent of the message was the voice message.
  • The implications I learned from this exercise for communicating effectively with members of a project team is that

According to Portny, Mantel, Meredith, Shafer, Sutton and Kramer in “Project Management: Planning, scheduling, and controlling projects”, the ability to communicate well both orally and in writing is a critical skill for project managers. Planning project communications up-front enables project managers to choose the appropriate type of communication for sharing the information to stakeholders in a clear and concise manner.

References:

Portny, S. E., Mantel, S. J., Meredith, J. R., Shafer, S. M., Sutton, M. M., & Kramer, B. E. (2008). Project management: Planning, scheduling, and controlling projects. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc.

Laureate Education (Producer). (n.d.). Project management concerns: Communication strategies and organizational culture [Video file]. Retrieved from https://class.waldenu.edu

Laureate Education (Producer). (n.d.). The Art of Effective Communication [Multimedia file]. Retrieved from https://class.waldenu.edu

One thought on “Communicating Effectively

  1. The face-to-face message is so much more personal and adds more urgency to the message. Facial expressions and body language portray so much more than a written or oral message. I would, however, ensure that I have documentation of the face-to-face exchange should I need it if the data is not sent.

Leave a Reply

